Hair Care: Give Your Hairbrush Some TLC

Often I find myself worrying so much about my hair itself, that I forget to pay attention to the tools I use everyday. You know how hairstylists always have combs and brushes soaking in disinfectant? That’s not just for sanitation (although it’s definitely reason enough), but it keeps everyone’s hair looking best when the tools used on it are clean! Otherwise, you’re adding lint, dirt, even oil and dandruff back onto your hair every time you brush and style. Yuck.

The great thing is, you don’t need anything fancy to clean your brushes and combs. All it takes is gathering up all your tools and heading to the sink with a bottle of your regular shampoo (or, if you treasure every drop of your shampoo as much as I do, I’ll rummage through those leftover mini hotel bottles I snagged from my last trip).

Step 1: Remove any hair tangled in your brushes and combs. This sometimes isn’t such an easy feat, especially if you don’t keep up with it. For stubborn hair, I’ll run a hair pin between bristles to catch and lift hair quickly.

Step 2: Rinse your brushes and combs under warm water to remove any major residue.

Step 3: Drizzle a dime sized-amount of shampoo onto one of your brushes.

Step 4: Rub this brush lightly against the bristles of another brush to lather them both up, killing two birds with one stone. Or, if you have a brush and comb, run the comb gently down the brush. Key word: gentle, we don’t want any snapped bristles!

Step 5: Rinse the lather off with warm water.

Step 6: Repeat steps three through five until all your brushes have been lathered up with shampoo.

Step 7: Lay your brushes and combs out on a towel and let them air dry.

Now it’s confession time. Do you clean your brushes and combs? How often?

3 comments

  1. I don’t really use a brush/comb anymore (I leave my hair curly) but when I used to use them all the time I used to take out the lint from my hairbrush whenever it made a thin layer so it was easy to take out in one go. I got though about 4 brushes a year though so they never got too dirty, it was more the bristles breaking. I washed them sometimes but not often. As for combs I never let dirt build up on them, I’ve seen plenty of people’s combs turn grey/black because of that.

    I think it also depends on what people use on their hair as well, because it will add to the dandruff, dirt and grease.

  2. Omg!!! I cant believe that I never thought of this! I’m ashamed..lol! Plus it makes so much sense, why wouldnt you clean your hair brushes. You clean your makeup brushes.. Thanks for the reminder :)))

Leave a Reply

