What Do You Think of “Going Green” With Your Beauty Products?

Let’s face it, right now going green is a huge fad. People who don’t have the slightest clue what an Earth-friendly product should consist of will grab products with “green” or “natural” in the name just the feel like they’ve done good. And really, what’s the shame in that?

I’ve recently been trying to switch the products in my shower to gels and face washes that don’t use animal testing or are biodegradable. I see it as, each strand of hair on my head has an average lifespan of 2 to 7 years, I should treat them right, right? But, it isn’t an easy feat.  I had a huge issue with a natural, herbal conditioner I tried setting off my seasonal allergies (which is a shame, because man it made my hair so shiny!).

However, I’ve heard many say they would never try a natural product, for many reasons.

Some say they don’t work as well, others feel it’s too expensive.

What do you think? Do you use “natural” or “green” beauty products? Why or why not?

2 comments

  1. Those who say they don’t work as well are fooling themselves or are lazy, most people in truth nowadays want quick results and trying anything ‘good for you’ is a general turn off because people don’t like to be ‘preached to’. The simple fact of the matter is people like convenience – like I’m constantly hearing people say ‘I tried dark chocolate but it’s horrible’, ‘I tried non dairy milk but it’s runny’, ‘I tried gluten free bread but it’s hard’, ‘I tried fair trade biscuits but they taste funny’ etc. They seem to forget that they didn’t try just one of the things they like now and decide it was the best ever and was for them. They also don’t realise that a lot of the ‘negative’ reactions initially had from natural products are part of detoxing and hence will give up too soon.

    For every ‘type’ of product there are many choices/brands/options and some will work better for some people in some conditions but it boils down to this – what is better for ‘you’ and what do you really think the cost is, money, ‘your’ health (I’ve seen people say they prefer processed soap/shampoos/body washes just because they feel squeaky clean but that’s down to SLS which is an industrial detergent stripper which shouldn’t be used on human skin but very commonly is), what is it costing the lives of others? A lot of people don’t see the need to be responsible or to try, many don’t even want to but I think it’s way past time to realise that we’re all part of a bigger life form and we all affect each other even if we don’t realise it. People don’t generally realise the extent of things/the seriousness unless it hits them or something/one they care about hard and that’s a shame.

    I do agree that many of the healthy labels have been used to rip off customers and with popularity came green washing where the advertising is not true or not as good as it makes out. People definitely have to be discerning when buying anything and hopefully more will explore the avenue of making their own cosmetics since it can be quite simple.

    BTW – I put the word ‘you’ in quotation marks to show that it’s a generic use and not personal in any way.

    1. Great comment, you made SO many points that I completely agree with! The big problem in my opinion with getting more people to use natural products or even just SLS products as you mentioned is that the majority won’t take the time to understand what the chemicals in their shampoos, shower gels, face washes, the list goes on… really are. Most of us have just come to assume that regulations are keeping us completely safe and we don’t take the time to be educated and aware for ourselves. I was shocked when I learned about SLS for the first time, and I must admit it took me awhile to switch over to SLS free products because I was still a little bit it in denial.

      Also, you bring up that prevalent issue that adding “green” or “natural” or even “earth” automatically makes people assume the product is doing good. I can tack those words on ANY product and have no responsibility towards actually making my product healthy for consumers or the environment.

      So, it comes down to the fact that the real issue here is understanding, and willingness to understand. I think we’ve come a long way, at least many are interested in going green with their lifestyle, it’s just whether or not they are going about it the right way.

      It’s a very interesting topic, thanks for your comment!

      Emily

Leave a Reply

