Green Your Morning Routine

While getting ready this morning, I started to realize how careless I am while I prepare for the upcoming day. I waste a lot all for the sake of looking good, and I must not be the only one. Most of us have gotten accustomed to having as much water and energy as we could possibly want, and as a result, we don’t think twice about what our simple actions can be doing to the environment.

If just half of us changed little things about our day to day activities to help the earth, imagine what an impact we could create!

I am going to start being a little more aware of how my actions can have less of a negative impact, starting with my morning routine. Make these small changes with me and let’s take strides to make a difference!

Shut off Your Faucet

How many of us keep the water running while we are staring in the mirror brushing our teeth? I know I do! That’s minutes of just letting water run wasted. According to You-Can-Go-Green.com, “If only one person in every hundred in the United States keeps the water running while brushing their teeth, 2,079,768,512 gallons of water will go down the drain wastefully”. That is a LOT of wasted water!

Unplug Your Appliances

Small appliances have the greatest drain on energy, and leaving your hairdryer, straighter, or curling iron plugged in all day is a fire hazard. Plug these in only when you are using them, and don’t forget to turn them off and unplug them the minute you’re finished styling in the morning. Also, take a look at the other small appliances in your bathroom – even keeping a bathroom radio plugged in throughout the day is a waste. Power has to be continuously pumped to keep your tiny – and I’m guessing rarely used – digital clock running on the front of your radio.

 Keep Your Water Heater in Check

Nobody enjoys steaming hot showers more than me – but did you know that just heating your water makes up an average of 13% of your energy bill? Make sure your water heater is at the normal temperature level – about 120 degrees Fahrenheit, and when you are away from your home turn it down to the lowest setting to cut down on unneeded power use (source: fypower.org).

Turn off Your Bathroom Light

I know this seems like a no-brainer, but really, stop and think about it – when you’re rushing around in the morning, do you remember to flick your bathroom light off? Sometimes I leave it on all day since my bathroom is in the back corner of my room and it is barely noticeable when I leave the light on. This is energy saving 101: when you leave a room, turn off the light.

Leave a Reply

