Shape Your Attitude, Shape Your Life

“My theory is that if you look confident you can pull off anything – even if you have no clue what you’re doing.” — Jessica Alba

This quote applies to every area of our lives, whether it be as significant as the choices we make or as small as the skirt we decide to throw on one morning. A few years back, I had an interview for a short term job that was a little challenging for where I was in my career at the time – which in reality, was nowhere, because I was only a sophomore in college with very little real world experience. I thought the odds were stacked against me, but I gave that situation my best. I dressed to the nines, went to the interview, and offered my ideas as confidently as I could, not knowing if they would love or hate what I had to say. Despite my doubts, I got that job, and they explicitly commented that they thought I had what it took to tackle the task at hand. Since then, I have always done my best to rise to the occasion and give something challenging my best effort – even if sometimes it makes me feel like a fish out of water.

Attitude is everything when it comes down to anything.

We can’t always be positive that taking a bold leap is going to work out. We don’t have a magic window into the future that will tell us what is coming next. Sometimes we win some and sometimes we lose some. Sometimes we really do have to fake it until we make it. However, all experiences, whether they are expected or not, planned or not, desired or not, shape us into who we are. Be confident in every step you take and you are far more likely to make every experience a positive one.

Photo Courtesy of: style.popcrunch.com

Leave a Reply

